The ‘Briggers’ is the name given to those who built the iconic Forth Rail Bridge. They worked in perilous conditions suspended hundreds of feet above the Firth of Forth in all seasons and bitter winds. Although records show that efforts were made to ensure their safety, 73 men and boys died. Many more were injured in accidents or succumbed to caisson disease or painters’ colic, now known as ‘the bends’.
The Briggers Memorial pays tribute to these workers. The 7ft cast bronze memorials (one at each end of the bridge) were unveiled in 2012 by Alex Salmond, former First Minister of Scotland. Around the base are the words “
The memorials bear the names, ages and occupations of men and boys killed during construction. The fatalities were identified through the dedication of the South Queensferry History Group and local enthusiasts who spent years trawling through records to give the bridge a human voice.
The North Queensferry War Memorial
"To the Briggers, past and present who built, restored and continue to maintain this iconic structure.”
The North Queensferry War Memorial stands at the junction of Main Street, Main Road and The Brae. The obelisk was first completed in 1921 using granite from the Carlingnose Quarry. It lists the names of those from the village who were killed in the First and Second World Wars.
The names are also listed on the North Queensferry Heritage Trust website. Once again, members of the North Queensferry Heritage Trust have carefully researched the stories behind the names on the memorial, giving a poignant illustration of the impact of war on the village.
By analysing the census figures, the Trust discovered that of the 450 men living in the village during the First World War, at least 28 were killed in battle.
If you wish to research North Queensferry census information, visit the North Queensferry Heritage Trust Census Search.